Menu

Special Education

In addition to Learning Resource classrooms for Crystal Lake South students, Crystal Lake South High School also houses the Functional Living Skills (FLS) program for students across the district.

Students enrolled in the Learning Resource curriculum are provided:

  • Direct instruction classes, such as math and reading
  • Additional supports through guided studies, such as ACCESS
  • Related services
  • Social emotional support

The Functional Living Skills program at Crystal Lake South High School services students with low incidence disabilities. Students are provided with functional academics, such as English, math and social science, as well as functional performance tasks throughout their day. 

Crystal Lake South houses six FLS classrooms, including a sensory room, a kitchen and an apartment where students build independent living skills. These skills include cleaning, cooking and grocery shopping. Staff members, including teachers, paraprofessionals and related service staff, work to provide students with the independence needed in their postsecondary transition.

The program also offers a full bench of related services based on student needs. This may include, but is not limited to the following:

  • Speech & language pathology
  • Occupational & physical therapy
  • Vision & hearing therapy
  • Orientation & mobility
  • Social emotional support

Students also have the opportunity to participate in adapted P.E. with general education students, be a part of Gator Buddies, as well as take art and music classes. Community based trips are incorporated in student learning at various times each semester.

Contact Us

Larry Boberg
Division Leader
Email: lboberg@d155.org

Nancy Dierking
Special Education Office Assistant 
Email: ndierking@d155.org

Samantha Calandriello
Teacher
Email: scalandriello@d155.org
 

Anna Carroll
Teacher
Email: acaroll@d155.org

Katie Eriksen
Teacher
Email: keriksen@d155.org

Patrick Kelly
Teacher
Email: pkelly@d155.org

Pamela Knulty
Teacher
Email: pknulty@d155.org

Karen Lazzara
Teacher
Email: klazzara@d155.org

Jamie McDonald
Teacher
Email: jmcdonald@d155.org

Jessica Penna
Teacher
Email: jpenna@d155.org

Michael Schneider
Teacher
Email: mschneider@d155.org

Kelly Wolpaw
Teacher
Email: kwolpaw@d155.org

Paraprofessionals

Lorie Candir
Paraprofessional
Email: lcandir@d155.org

Jamie Cisco
Paraprofessional
Email: jcisco@d155.org

Jill Ellison 
Paraprofessional
Email: jellison@d155.org

Jaclyn Faber
Paraprofessional
Email: jfaber@d155.org

Elaina Fales
Paraprofessional
Email: efales@d155.org

Rene Glosny
Paraprofessional
Email: rglosny@d155.org

Catherine Guenther 
Paraprofessional
Email: cguenther@d155.org

Gunnar Halverson
Paraprofessional
Email: ghalverson@d155.org

Stephanie Lechner
Paraprofessional
Email: slechner@d155.org

Nancy Lemke
Paraprofessional
Email: nlemke@d155.org

Ryann Manke
Paraprofessional
Email: rmanke@d155.org

Debbie McIntyre
Paraprofessional
Email: dmcintyre@d155.org

Adele Patapack
Paraprofessional
Email: apatapack@d155.org

Charles Price
Paraprofessional
Email: cprice@d155.org

Laura Salazar
Paraprofessional
Email: lsalazar@d155.org

Mary Sherman
Paraprofessional
Email: msherman@d155.org

Veronica Straw
Paraprofessional 
Email: vstraw@d155.org
 

Jonathan Talavera
Paraprofessional
Email: jtalavera@d155.org